Social Psychopath

109685978

Our New Shadow

Leave a comment

Have you ever tried to relate digital world with the real world? There are so many events to learn from on the digital world which are very much applicable even in the real world. Instead, if you bother to observe then you shall realize that the digital world is actually a reflection of our real life.

ImageImage
Source: 1. www.pammarketingnut.com

   2. www.hackstacks.com

 

I remember a time when success on Facebook meant the number of people you are friends with on it. It is not actually a trend-of-time, rather, it is a trend-of-a-phase and it is the initial phase of joining Facebook. We want new posts on our timeline and different people to chat with every time we log into our Facebook account. An account with less or no friends seem dull and thus, boring! When I joined Facebook, in order to get my account popular and interesting, I would send a friend-request to anyone and everyone regardless of who they are and how they are. Now I do not know more than half the people I am friends with on Facebook. It has become a trash box.

This, to me, sounds much like my school life. In school I had many friends. Actually, they were not friends -not all of them- but they were people I would talk to. Later I realized that I was referring to all of them as my friends but I did not know many of them on a personal level. Now I have very few friends compared to what I had then but now, I have real friends and not just those I refer to as friends. The same is on Facebook. I talk to just a few people on Facebook now, the rest are showpieces in my Facebook friends-list.

Image

Source: davidgonos.com

I went through a similar phase when I joined Twitter. Please do not misunderstand the word ‘similar’ as ‘same’ as there’s a thin difference between the two. This post is not about the difference between the word ‘similar’ and ‘same’ and so, you should check a good dictionary if you are keen to know the difference between the two words. Now let’s return to Twitter. My timeline was full of interesting tweets but I had none to read my tweets. I wanted followers and the thirst for followers kept increasing; I always wanted more of them! I remember following the #FollowForFollow trend and asking, rather begging, people to follow my account. Doesn’t that sound materialistic?

ImageImage

Source: 1. www.postconsumers.com

         2. socialsavvysarah.com

There was a time when it was the brand and not the quality of the clothes or accessories or gadgets that mattered to me. I would be bothered about the car I would travel in. It was not the quality of something that was impressive but the price-tag was more attractive. My score in exams concerned me. I was bothered about what people would think about me. Then I would chase figures. Now I do not chase figures. I no more believe in quantitative assessment but now I am a believer a qualitative assessment. The same is on Twitter. I no more make attempts to boost the figure of the number-of-followers of my account on Twitter.

My initial stages of blogging and Instagram were not at all similar to my initial stages of Facebook and Twitter. It is so because I joined Instagram and started blogging long after I’d joined Facebook and Twitter. My initial stages of Facebook and Twitter reflected who I was then. Now Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and WordPress are all a reflection of who I presently am.

Image

Source: www.seoclerk.com

 

I cannot deny the happiness that I get by the figure of number of people liking or sharing my posts on Facebook. I, at times, get disappointed when my tweet is not been Re-tweeted or when less people favorites my tweets on Twitter. I get excited when, all of a sudden, a lot many people visits my blog. Can you relate these things with the real life incidents?

I remember how happy would I be when I would step down a stage and the audience would tell me how great my speech or anchoring or drama or whatever was! There too were times when I received less or no appreciation for my work. I would be overwhelmed when my teachers and seniors would say good things about me. I would be excited to see my juniors rushing up to me to greet me and talk to me. But there too were times when none greeted me even when I was walking amidst the crowd.  

Image

Source: www.gettyimages.com

 

This post is not about what I was and who I am now. It is about how related is the digital world with the real world. My activities on the digital world are a reflection of my real world. The digital world is a mirror. What you see on it is a reflection of the real world. It is not a different world. It is the real world on a screen.

In the times of war the digital world reflects anger and helplessness. In the times of joy the digital world rolls with happy posts. When someone dies, we witness the tears of people on the digital world in the form of long Facebook posts and sad Tweets.

Image

Source: www.blooloop.com

 

The digital world has actually become a shadow of the real world; one does not walk without the other. As soon as one gets engaged, they post the news on the internet in some form. When a baby is born, its picture goes viral on the internet. There are times when the internet is not instantly informed of certain events but then, there too are times when our body does not have its shadow with it.

Image

Source: www.dailybri.com

 

Our Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts are a reflection of us. Our blog is our mirror. It is no different from who you are. You may pretend on the digital world but then, you can do the same even in the real world. Stop treating the digital world as a different world as the time is gone when it was different from our real world. Now it has become us. Our accounts on various applications and websites have become us. Now, we have become digital.  

Author: theadisolanki

I am an observer who goes around analyzing things. I am curious to know about everything that I come across. I am a question bank. I like to see things from a different angle. I am a law student willing to be a movie-maker and a writer. I love to write and thus, I use it as a medium to express myself. I am an avid reader. I like to study the human behavior and thus, I keenly observe how people usually response to everything. I often keep reading everything on psychology on the internet. I am afraid of being normal. I want an extraordinary life. By that I do not mean a lavish lifestyle but a life that is different. I do not want a 9-5 job. I want to be an entrepreneur and I want to work for pleasure than for bread and butter. I do not want to spend life; I want to live life! I am a philosopher. I am anti-discrimination and thus, I do not fail to notice any kind of discrimination around me. I like to work for the general good. I believe that I am rational. I like to be alone but at times, I also enjoy a company! I like to do things for mere pleasure. I believe in moments than in achievements. I am a strong critic who prefers being honest but puts up the truth in the politest manner. I admire good language and good behavior. Do not take life seriously. You will never get out alive. Thank you for stopping by my blog. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,128 other followers